Start a Computer Business with the Computer Business Kit

Author Topic: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura  (Read 3636 times)

Offline SprinTech-WI

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2495
    • Sprinter Technology Services
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2013, 12:18:54 PM »
straight talk cdma uses verizon towers.  try dialing *228 and option 2 to reset roaming profile.

There was a similar code that Straight Talk had me try when I went there,  star followed by I think five digits or so.  It didn't work.  I'll have to see if I can get this one to work next time I'm out that way.

Quote
for the record, verizon uses SIM cards for 4g only, calls have nothing to do with that SIM card.

What they'd told me was that if I had a phone that had one I would be able to make it work there,  but mine doesn't have one,  apparently.  A "C" on the end of the model #?  Something like that.

Straight Talk, and Net10/Trafone all have GSM AND CDMA network access, around here most handsets are sim based, but other parts of the country they aren't and on tracfone you can get either the sim(GSM) or non-sim(CDMA) handsets and they will have different coverage areas. You can't have both on their handsets.
Sprinter Technology Services
715-204-4040
www.SprinterTechnologies.com
Chris@SprinterTech.us

Offline Roy J. Tellason

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2013, 01:57:31 PM »
This phone I have here is an LG290CM,  does that narrow things down a bit?

Offline slowhand53

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2264
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2013, 11:08:04 PM »
This phone I have here is an LG290CM,  does that narrow things down a bit?
google says cdma

Offline SprinTech-WI

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2495
    • Sprinter Technology Services
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2013, 11:13:01 PM »
yup I actually have a few of those floating around here... trac CDMA is correct
Sprinter Technology Services
715-204-4040
www.SprinterTechnologies.com
Chris@SprinterTech.us

Offline Roy J. Tellason

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #19 on: June 12, 2013, 07:57:09 AM »
So I guess what I need is GSM,  then?

Offline Dave

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 5237
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2013, 12:03:54 PM »
Only if ATT and T-Mobile have asetter coverage in your area
"And as I've gotten older, I've had more of a tendency to look for people who live by kindness, tolerance, compassion, a gentler way of looking at things."

Martin Scorsese

Offline Roy J. Tellason

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2013, 12:13:39 PM »
Only if ATT and T-Mobile have asetter coverage in your area

No experience with T-Mobile,  though they don't have a very good reputation among a few people I've talked to.

I did talk to AT&T once,  and the only thing they seemed to be able to assure me of was coverage along and near all of the interstates.  A recent visitor to "the farm",  where I have no cell service except only occasionally getting text messages,  was able to use their phone,  and I'm pretty sure that was AT&T,  though it might've been Sprint.  I used to have a Virgin Mobile phone that used the Sprint network,  and coverage for that one was really horrible.

Verizon doesn't do GSM?

Offline Dave

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 5237
Re: Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2013, 12:33:36 PM »
Unless things have changed recently, T-Mobile and ATT are gsm only and Sprint and Verizon are cdma only. Some MVNOs (resellers) use one carrier from both but not in one phone or one account.
"And as I've gotten older, I've had more of a tendency to look for people who live by kindness, tolerance, compassion, a gentler way of looking at things."

Martin Scorsese