Start a Computer Business with the Computer Business Kit

Author Topic: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message  (Read 11430 times)

Offline Parrish

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Mentor
  • ****
  • Posts: 18183
    • Pathfinder Networks
Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« on: August 04, 2012, 04:37:06 PM »
I do realize this is not the correct forum to post this in- as it should go under a different hardware category (for which there isn't one that fits).  However, this is one of the very few public forums on this board and I definitely wanted this post to be indexed and able to be found by others facing this same situation- hence why it's living here.

We have a Samsung SA300 (22" version) in our shop that is showing the all to common issue with this model monitor- no video and/or the check signal message being displayed on the screen.  The monitor was working fine previously- just decided it didn't want to work any more.  If you search online you'll find this is becoming a common problem with this fairly new (manufactured July of 2011) monitor. 

It's definitely a logic issue- and not anything to do with hardware or bad capacitors.

The fix is very easy- although nearly impossible to find.  Even Samsung doesn't tell you what it takes to fix it- even though they are the ones tha provide the fix.

It's simply a firmware update.  Just connect the monitor to a PC as a second display (otherwise you won't be able to 'see' the desktop and run the firmware update!).  I used a laptop with a VGA out port to get the job done.

Go here and and scroll down to the Manuals & Downloads section then choose the Firmware option.  Download and run the firmware updater.
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/LS22A300BS/ZA

Then, after it's finished installing, run the Samsung FirmwareUpdater app now located in your Start menu.  Let it do it's thing.  Once finished the monitor will shut off.  Just turn it back on- bingo.  Problem resolved. 

I do believe this same firmware update utility works with the entire SA300 series of monitors. 
2013 Parrish Reinoehl

Quote from: Todd Hughes
Linux guys are a strange lot...........

Offline witchdoctor

  • Tier 2 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 3620
  • Trolling! Now accepting the marginally competent!
    • Witchdoctor.Digital
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2012, 05:07:37 PM »
I need to have a looksee at my 24" Acer monitor when I get home and see if there isn't a firmware update available. It would be nice to be able to use the DVI-D input again, with an HDMI adapter...

Offline Mark Verhyden

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2740
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2012, 05:18:22 PM »
Interesting.  I have a Samsung 32 that someone gave me that has an issue with the video just going out.  Then just stopped working.  I'll have to see if there is an update for that model.  So used to tube tech I never think about firmware updates for the flatscreen stuff.

Edit:  no firmware for mine so I guess I'll be cracking it open to take a peek.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2012, 06:09:25 PM by Mark Verhyden »

Offline Nathan Williams

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2161
  • Let there be Chrome
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2012, 06:05:53 PM »
SO you can update this via an ANALOG VGA port?   Never knew you could do such a thing.   How long til the virus writers get ahold of that.

Offline Parrish

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Mentor
  • ****
  • Posts: 18183
    • Pathfinder Networks
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2012, 07:05:55 PM »
SO you can update this via an ANALOG VGA port?   Never knew you could do such a thing.   How long til the virus writers get ahold of that.
Yes, I updated it via the VGA port.  First time I've ever had to do a firmware update on a monitor- almost seems crazy to think that would ever be needed. 
And yes- imagine the havoc a virus writer could do with that.  They could permantely destroy your monitor or even just make it display an image of their choice. 
2013 Parrish Reinoehl

Quote from: Todd Hughes
Linux guys are a strange lot...........

Offline Parrish

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Mentor
  • ****
  • Posts: 18183
    • Pathfinder Networks
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2012, 07:06:53 PM »
BTW, another symptom of this monitor pre-firmware update was that the menu buttons didn't function at all- well other than the power button.  After the firmware update all the menu buttons work and the on screen menu appears as it should.
2013 Parrish Reinoehl

Quote from: Todd Hughes
Linux guys are a strange lot...........

Offline Joo-nay

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2012, 10:01:24 PM »
I checked my 205BW and no firmware but I already fixed both (given to me for free) with 3 capacitors each back last year and they work better than new. Nice to know that some actually can be updated so when I get others given to me or I find one parts/repair on ebay or craigslist super cheap. Now if I could find someone that wants to give me a 40 inch or better LCD TV for free that needs some caps or a cheap board I'd be a happy camper.

Offline a coder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2012, 03:26:01 PM »
I do realize this is not the correct forum to post this in- as it should go under a different hardware category (for which there isn't one that fits).  However, this is one of the very few public forums on this board and I definitely wanted this post to be indexed and able to be found by others facing this same situation- hence why it's living here.

We have a Samsung SA300 (22" version) in our shop that is showing the all to common issue with this model monitor- no video and/or the check signal message being displayed on the screen.  The monitor was working fine previously- just decided it didn't want to work any more.  If you search online you'll find this is becoming a common problem with this fairly new (manufactured July of 2011) monitor. 

It's definitely a logic issue- and not anything to do with hardware or bad capacitors.

The fix is very easy- although nearly impossible to find.  Even Samsung doesn't tell you what it takes to fix it- even though they are the ones tha provide the fix.

It's simply a firmware update.  Just connect the monitor to a PC as a second display (otherwise you won't be able to 'see' the desktop and run the firmware update!).  I used a laptop with a VGA out port to get the job done.

Go here and and scroll down to the Manuals & Downloads section then choose the Firmware option.  Download and run the firmware updater.
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/LS22A300BS/ZA

Then, after it's finished installing, run the Samsung FirmwareUpdater app now located in your Start menu.  Let it do it's thing.  Once finished the monitor will shut off.  Just turn it back on- bingo.  Problem resolved. 

I do believe this same firmware update utility works with the entire SA300 series of monitors.

Old topic, new member - I joined specifically to thank Parrish for the post he made.  I was about to chunk my SA300 after giving up hope.. I couldn't find any blown/bad capacitors on the PCB and decided getting a newer monitor was better.   On a whim I searched for SA300 PCB, and eventually wound up here.

The firmware update worked perfectly.

Thanks again.

Offline Todd Hughes

  • Beer is like porn: You can buy it but it's more fun to make your own.
  • Global Moderator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 9925
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2012, 03:47:02 PM »
Welcome to the FF! Stop in here and tell us a bit about yourself.

---Todd
Quote from: Parrish
Damn you Microsoft! Damn you to hell!!

Microsoft you SUCK!

F.U. Microsoft!!!!#@@#$@#$@#@#!@#%^&%$^

Offline bfarmer

  • Global Moderator
  • Mentor
  • *****
  • Posts: 10874
    • WNY PC Repair
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2012, 03:53:30 PM »

Old topic, new member - I joined specifically to thank Parrish for the post he made.  I was about to chunk my SA300 after giving up hope.. I couldn't find any blown/bad capacitors on the PCB and decided getting a newer monitor was better.   On a whim I searched for SA300 PCB, and eventually wound up here.

The firmware update worked perfectly.

Thanks again.


Cool! Nice job, Parrish!

Welcome aboard, coder. Which begs the question, what type of coder are you?

Offline a coder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2012, 04:10:34 PM »
Welcome to the FF! Stop in here and tell us a bit about yourself.

---Todd

Done, thanks again.

Offline Ward

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 5058
    • The Video Dash Cam Store
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2012, 07:05:38 PM »
Oooo, a Kudo for Parrish.


Hot Damn.  :biggrin:

Thanks Coder. Happy New Year too.

Offline ComputerPlano

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2012, 08:42:23 PM »
SO you can update this via an ANALOG VGA port?   Never knew you could do such a thing.   How long til the virus writers get ahold of that.
Yes, I updated it via the VGA port.  First time I've ever had to do a firmware update on a monitor- almost seems crazy to think that would ever be needed. 
And yes- imagine the havoc a virus writer could do with that.  They could permantely destroy your monitor or even just make it display an image of their choice.

I could see GS's evil twin doing this to gain new repair business; but the I thought the virus-writing teams are generally after your bank account of turning your PC into a 'bot, not bricking your monitor...

But I am grateful for the repair advice!
« Last Edit: December 29, 2012, 08:45:53 PM by ComputerPlano »

Offline tommivercetti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2013, 08:25:18 PM »
Wondering if any of you guys can help me, i have 2 of these monitors with the same problem but i cant get the update to install. i've tried hdmi and vga it just says no monitors found or up to date. it says that without them plugged in as well so what am i doing wrong?

the monitors are s24a300h

Offline Mark Verhyden

  • Tier 3 Member
  • Macgyvertech
  • ****
  • Posts: 2740
Re: Samsung SA300 Monitors- no video / check signal message
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2013, 09:32:32 PM »
Wondering if any of you guys can help me, i have 2 of these monitors with the same problem but i cant get the update to install. i've tried hdmi and vga it just says no monitors found or up to date. it says that without them plugged in as well so what am i doing wrong?

the monitors are s24a300h

Yours is a 24" and the OP is a 22".  Would not expect them to be the same.  Did you try to apply the update from here?