Start a Computer Business with the Computer Business Kit

Author Topic: Dish Network VIP 722k Receiver locking up  (Read 10489 times)

Offline Parrish

• Tier 3 Member
  • Mentor
    • Pathfinder Networks
Dish Network VIP 722k Receiver locking up
« on: February 08, 2012, 12:55:14 AM »
I intentionally posted this in a public area in the hopes that maybe someone else will benefit from this.

I have a VIP 722k receiver from Dish Network.  I've been having issues where the receiver would slow down (as is slow down responding to remote commands) and randomly lock up.  I'd have to go over and hit the reset button to reboot it and all would be good for a few weeks again.  I had been doing that for a good 6 months now.  Recently the problem was getting worse- where it would lock up right in the middle of watching a show.  Last night it locked up during recording and without me actually watching anything.  Today I go to turn the TV to see what's been DVR'd for the day (I DVR a LOT of programming) only to find that the receiver is again locked up hard.  This time, however, a reboot doesn't work.  It freezes at the Starting Up screen.  Ok, I figure I must need to do a hard reset by unplugging it.  Try that and, again, it locks up at the Starting Up screen.

My first thought is a bad drive- as a failed drive tends to be the primary problem with DVR's.  However, unlike when I've had drives fail before, I never once had a hard drive error message pop up nor do I hear the tell-tale click, click, click.

So, since I own this receiver (and because I'm exceedingly impatient) I decide to rip it open to see what might be the issue.  Fortunately you can open this receiver by just removing 5 screws and there are no Warranty tamper tags to worry about.  Comes apart very easy.